.
skip to Main Content

The Song of Songs

11.11.2020 – 30.12.2020

Curator: Irina Shulzhenko

Project "The Song of Songs" will be the first personal exhibition of Vera Martynov.

The exhibition will be a total installation created specifically for the MYTH gallery space and will combine painting, found objects, sculpture, photography and video. A special role in the project will be played by Vera Martynov's stage cantata "SOS" (The Song of Songs), which will be presented in video format.

Irina Shulzhenko, curator:

«Landscape occupies a special place in the text of «Song of Songs». In the project of Vera Martynov, a poetic outlook with detailed descriptions of flora and fauna, the changing seasons and architectural sketches finds material embodiment. In the composition of paints - pigments - red Pompeian ground, burnt sienna, natural umber, ocher, egg yolks, and dry white wine. Picturesque views here, as well as in «Song of Songs», are not so much a «background for the face» as an equivalent component of the overall picture of a beautiful and disturbing world.»

On November 17, the M. Baryshnikov Center for the Arts (New York) will host the premiere of the stage cantata «SOS» in digital format. The work was created by Vera Martynov together with the artistic director of the Intrada ensemble Ekaterina Antonenko and composer Alexei Sysoev. Originally conceived as a live performance, the stage cantata for 14 singers, two reciters, percussion, and telegraph key will be reinterpreted and digitally adapted.

A large-scale project in the MYTH gallery will unite the digital version of the SOS cantata, based on the Old Testament text of the 7th-1st centuries BC translated from the 17th century, video recordings of performances, project preparation documentation, and total installation.

From November 11 to 17 within the framework of the exhibition project «The Song of Songs» in MYTH Gallery will be shown video documentation of the work on the cantata, and from November 17 until the end of the exhibition - a digital version of the stage cantata "SOS".

Curator: Irina Shulzhenko
Exhibition partners: Imperial Porcelain Manufactory, Delo design, wynwood hotel, Scena.rpo workshop, Baryshnikov Arts Center, MART Foundation  

The digital version of SOS was realized owing to the support of the MART Foundation and the Nonfiction.film documentary film platform.

 

Images for posting materials about the project are available via this link

Back To Top

Для просмотра данной страницы, пожалуйста, укажите свой email.

I am interested in purchasing
Author
Please send me further details about this artwork.
Ваш запрос успешно отправлен!

.
skip to Main Content

Песнь Песней

11.11.2020 – 10.01.2021

Куратор: Ирина Шульженко

Чтобы посетить выставку, необходимо предварительно зарегистрироваться по ссылке.


Проект «Песнь Песней» станет первой персональной выставкой Веры Мартынов.

Выставка представит собой тотальную инсталляцию, созданную специально для пространства галереи MYTH, и объединит живопись, найденные объекты, скульптуру, фотографию и видео. Особая роль в проекте будет отведена сценической кантате Веры Мартынов «SOS» (The Song of Songs), которая будет представлена в видео формате.

Ирина Шульженко, куратор:

«Особое место в тексте “Песни песней” занимает ландшафт. В проекте Веры Мартынов поэтическое миросозерцание с подробными описаниями флоры и фауны, сменой времен года и архитектурными зарисовками находит материальное воплощение. В составе красок - пигменты - красная помпейская земля, жженая сиена, натуральная умбра, охра, яичные желтки и белое сухое вино. Живописные виды здесь, равно как и в “Песне песней”, - не столько “фон для лица”, сколько равноценная составляющая общей картины прекрасного и тревожного мира.»

17 ноября в Центре искусств М. Барышникова (Нью-Йорк) состоится премьера сценической кантаты «SOS» в цифровом формате. Произведение было создано Верой Мартынов совместно с художественным руководителем ансамбля Intrada Екатериной Антоненко и композитором Алексеем Сысоевым. Изначально задуманная как живое выступление сценическая кантата для 14 певцов, двух чтецов, перкуссии и телеграфного ключа будет переосмыслена и адаптирована под цифровой формат.

Масштабный проект в галерее MYTH объединит digital-версию кантаты «SOS», созданной на основе ветхозаветного текста VII-I в. до н.э. в переводе XVII в., видеозаписи выступлений, документацию подготовки проекта и тотальную инсталляцию.

С 11 по 17 ноября в рамках выставочного проекта «Песнь Песней» в MYTH Gallery будет демонстрироваться видео-документация работы над кантатой, а с 17 ноября и вплоть до завершения выставки – цифровая версия сценической кантаты «SOS».

Куратор: Ирина Шульженко

Партнеры проекта: Императорский Фарфоровый Завод, Delo design, wynwood hotel, мастерская Cценические решения, Baryshnikov Arts Center, MART Foundation  

Создание цифровой версии «SOS» стало возможно благодаря поддержке MART Foundation и платформы документального кино Nonfiction.film

Back To Top

Для просмотра данной страницы, пожалуйста, укажите свой email.

Меня заинтересовала работа
Автор
Прошу выслать мне подробную информацию о работе.
Ваш запрос успешно отправлен!